Home Programme » Awards


FEBS Medals

FEBS awards three medals at the FEBS Congress for outstanding achievements in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology or related sciences to distinguished senior scientists: the Sir Hans Krebs medal, the Theodor Bücher medal and the Datta medal. The awardees of FEBS medals at the 41st FEBS Congress, who will deliver Plenary Lectures at the event, are:

     FEBS Sir Hans Krebs Lecture and Medal: Kári Stefánsson (deCODE genetics, Iceland)
     FEBS Theodor Bücher Lecture and Medal: Elena Conti (Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie, Germany)
     FEBS Datta Lecture and Medal: Anthony Turner (Linköping University, Sweden)

To explore the awardees' biographies and lecture titles, see the Plenary Speakers page; for more information on the FEBS Medals, click here.

FEBS Anniversary Prize

This prize is awarded to persons under the age of 40 for outstanding achievements in the field of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, or related sciences, with the selection made from those invited to present a lecture at the Congress. 

FEBS Letters Award Lecture

FEBS Letters presents a biennial award of €10,000 to the senior author of an outstanding paper published in FEBS Letters during the previous two calendar years. The awardee is invited to present a plenary lecture at the FEBS Congress. The FEBS Letters Award 2016 will be presented jointly to Kim Nasmyth (University of Oxford, UK) and Jan Löwe (MRC, Cambridge, UK). Read the news post here; Jan Löwe will talk about the work at the Congress.

The FEBS Journal Prize Lecture

The FEBS Journal Richard Perham Prize is awarded annually to a young investigator who published the best paper in the journal in the previous year, as selected by the editorial board. The prize consists of €1000 plus an invitation to present the work in a plenary lecture at the FEBS Congress. The FEBS Journal Richard Perham Prize 2016 will be awarded to Fatima Aloraifi (Smurfit Institute of Genetics, Trinity College Dublin, Dublin 2, Ireland). Read the news post here.

FEBS/EMBO Women in Science Award

The FEBS/EMBO Women in Science Award is a joint initiative to highlight major contributions made by female scientists to Life Science research. The winner receives a prize of €10,000 and presents a special plenary lecture at the FEBS Congress. The 2016 winner of this award is Fiona Watt. To explore her biography and lecture title, click here. For more information on the FEBS/EMBO Women in Science Award, see the prize information on the FEBS website.

FEBS Press Poster Prizes

The intended 'Poster of the Day' prizes for outstanding scientific posters at the FEBS Congress could not be run as planned following cancellation of the live event. However, two FEBS Open Bio prizes have been awarded to posters selected from those uploaded to the FEBS Congress website's online presentation feature following cancellation: click here for more information.

Journals from FEBS: FEBS has twin commitments to high-quality publications and the promotion of molecular biosciences. As a charitable academic organization, FEBS uses income from the journals to fund its diverse activities, including support for the FEBS Congress.
IFCC: IFCC auspices have been given to this event.